Confessions of an EMT

11/16/2014 14:21

If we get a call from a female with an abdominal pain at three in the morning, I have been to this situation millions of times; some has usually been smoking crack.

I am Michael, I have been an EMT in providence for twenty two years. As soon as I have a call from the radio, I get a visualisation, the alarm goes off and somebody needs you, you barely finish eating and you have to go again. If we get a call from a payphone from a female with abdominal pain at three in the morning, I have been to this payphone a million times, it’s usually someone smoking crack.

emt shirtThis one lady was pregnant and in labour when we got there and she’d been smoking crack the whole night, put her in the truck and got her to the hospital, as we got her through the door, the baby was on my stretcher, the nurses took over, they got the baby and they said it was a girl and she was just like, get it away from me, I have nothing to do with it.

This poor kid is in for a life long struggle, A, with drug addiction, being born with that, and B, no family, you leave that and another call comes in and again, that’s in the background and it goes away eventually. It just builds up, sometimes my mind just wanders, that guy that got run over by the oil truck or on the corner from there, a kid shot himself in the head in front of the police, he was about to get arrested, I had a call from a guy who had bad dreams, more than once, people are looking for Vicodin and they get it and they know they can get it, they get it for free.

People get a little offended by the ambulance driver tag, would you call a police officer a police car driver, there is a lot more to it than driving the ambulance.